How To Get Out of Your Own Way: 3 Ways to Stop Self-Sabotaging Yourself

AM Costanzo
5 min readMar 7, 2019

Every now and then it gets me. The funk. The self-sabotaging. The completely wrong way to go about my day.

Some days I have no answer for why I feel so blah, or why can’t I get it together, or why I just lost my sh*t with my kids/spouse/co-worker/unsuspecting victim who happened to be in my vicinity. It just happens. And I feel cruddy. And what sucks, even more, is that it’s easier to remain in this funkified state rather than challenging it or attempting to do the work that needs to be done in order to get out of it. (Sounding familiar??)

We all crash into our funks sooner or later and when those moments arise, we have a choice to make. We can either willingly wallow in it and all its messiness, or we can take a deep breath, put on our big girls pants and make the decision to go from funkified to glorified. (The latter being the more annoying yet proper, big girl approach even though sometimes all you really, really, really want to do is be mad at the world, and the people, and the circumstances! I feel you. But that’s really a lot of wasted energy — and we all know it is. Wah!!!!)

Once you’ve given yourself permission to say Ok, this sucks, I’m in a funk and I hate everyone! you can begin to turn it around. There are a few simple things you can do to help tackle the…

--

--

AM Costanzo

Accountant turned Graphic Designer turned Personal Trainer turned Writer. I write about wellness, mindfulness, fitness and doing that thing that lights you up!